Dream Up Festival 2016
Dream Up Festival BlogblankLike Us on Facebook

The Joint title
– New YorkPremiere

Written by: Curtis D. Jones.
Conceived by: Denise S. Gray
Composed by: Timothy Graphenreed.
Directed/Choreographed by: Kenneth Robertson.

The Joint , a new rhythm and blues musical about love, forgiveness, dreams and the place which started it all.  Rich with southern humor and real folk hurt, The Joint is a high-spirited musical with intertwined stories, a score which invites you to tap your feet and the best of Broadway’s talent.  Don’t miss the opportunity to take a peek at this exciting workshop production as it takes flight.

Johnson Theater

Thursday - September 8 - 6:30pm
Friday - September 9 - 6:30pm
Saturday - September 10 - 5pm
Sunday - September 11 - 5pm

Running time: The Joint is 1 hour 50 Minutes $18.

The Joint Image

Artistic Team
CURTIS D. JONES, PLAYWRIGHT, a mentee of award-winning playwright, Steve Carter, is best known as a playwright and director for the Obie award winning production of The Maafa Suite which has been produced annually for the last twenty-two years by St. Paul Community Baptist Church.  The acclaimed docu-drama has played to sold out audiences nationally and internationally.  A registered pharmacist by trade, Jones’ passion is for the arts.  Like many, that passion was first developed and nurtured in the church.  Mr. Jones has also written for the Obie nominated adaptation of Langston Hughes’ Black Nativity.  His work as a director includes; Unto Us, Joy, He Got Up, Bless My Bones: A Billie Holiday Story and Sojourn.  He is also coauthor of a novel entitled Who Killed Leslie Cummings and is currently working on a new novel -- Which Way to the Top?

TIMOTHY GRAPHENREED, COMPOSER, is best known for composing The Tornado, The Funky Monkey, and Emerald City Ballet in the Mega Broadway hit The Wiz.  He is a member of ASCAP and has worked with several multi-talented Directors/Choreographers including Michael Peters, Maurice Hines, Pat Birch, Hinton Battle, Louis Johnson, Debbie Allen, Otis Sallid and of course, Tony Award-winning George Faison.  Mr. Graphenreed has the distinct pleasure of having done vocal arrangements for four African American Tony Award winners; including Lillias White, Hinton Battle, Adriane Lenox, and LaChanze.
He has also composed for several notables, including Gregory Hines; Jennifer Holiday; Phylicia Rashad; Jeff Goldblum; Robert Downey, Jr.;  Maya Angelou; Valerie Simpson; Darlene Love; Morgan Freeman; Charles Strouse; Ben Vereen; Melba Moore; Lalo Schifrin; Nick Ashford; Peabo Bryson and Patti Austin to name a few. He has written arrangements for several corporations including Ford, Krizia, L’Oreal, Essence Magazine, CBS, Rai Uno, Panasonic, PBS, Coca Cola 100 Years of Coca Cola and Lincoln Mercury.

KENNETH L. ROBERSON, DIRECTOR/CHOREOGRAPHER, New York credits include: Avenue Q Tony Award For Best Musical; All Shook Up, The Palace Theater; Purlie (Encores!), City Center; Freak, Court Theater; Off Broadway: A Boy and His Soul, The Vineyard; Jazz a La Carte (as director and choreographer.) Apollo Theatre.  Regional Theatre credits as Director include: Ethel (Alliance Theatre Spring 2016;) Frog Kiss (world premier Virginia Stage.) Crowns, Lady Day at the Emerson Bar and Grill and Ain’t Misbehavin', all at the Arena Stage in Washington D.C.: Once on This Island, Baltimore Center Stage. As Professor in the Drama, Theatre and Contemporary Dance Department at Indiana University: Director and choreographer for Sweet Charity; Directed Into the Woods and choreographed In The Red and Brown Water Regional Theatre credits as Choreographer; Ray, Pasadena Playhouse; The Color Purple (world premier,) Alliance Theater, Guys and Dolls both at Thunder Knocking on the Door, Arena Stage. Film: HBO's Lackawanna Blues, Preaching to the Choir, and John Lequizamo's House of Buggin', Fox T.V. which he received an Emmy Nomination. Other awards include: two NAACP Awards, two Lucille Lortel Award nominations, Drama Desk Award nomination and ADELCO Award, BET Spirit Award, NPT Spirit Award and Lifetime Achievement Award from SAY (Stuttering Association for the Young.). Kenneth is a graduate of the University of Georgia's Henry Grady School of Journalism.

Back to shows button


© 2016 Dream Up Festival dreamupfestival.org All Rights Reserved.